Nepal team win Khanchendzonga Mountain Biking Expedition

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Mar 13 (UNI) The victorious Himalayan Ultimate Bike team comprising Padam Sabenhhang and Mangal Krishna Lama was honoured for winning the 448.6 km nine-leg first 25,000 US dollar International Khanchendzonga Mountain Biking Expedition in an impressive function at Gangtok, this evening.

The formidable pair from Nepal clocked 13::55::11 to receive the glittering team trophy from Padamshree Bhaichuing Bhutia. The Nepal mountain bikers shared a prize money of Rs 50,000 each.

Mangal was also presented the men's trophy as he covered the 448.6 km nine-leg distance in 13::20:25, pushing hot favourite and international Padam Sabenhhang, also of Nepal, to the second position.

Padam clocked the energy-scapping distance in 13::21:30. Mangal, a student of 11th class, was richer by Rs 1.20 lakh while Padam received a cheque of Rs 1 lakh. Naresh Barman of Army C team finished third for a prize money of Rs 50,000.

Army B team comprising of Dileep Kumar Singh and Kalyan Singh emerged runners-up with an average time of 14::42:18. and were richer by Rs 60,000. The Army C team comprising of Naresh Barman and Diben Meetei were third in team championship. They recieved Rs 40,000.

Chandigarh's Kulbir Kaur, represeting Firefox, completed the race in 21::50:29 to claim the women's title which carried a prize money of Rs 70,000. Her colleague Monika, also from Chandigarh, was runner-up in 26::49:59. She received a cash prize of Rs 50,000.

Ang Phurba Sherpa, who had climbed the Himalayas twice, claimed top honours in the masters category with a timing of 20::26:25.

Sherpa, who represented ZHUB-2, received Rs 75,000.

Delhi's Saminder Saluja (22::14:24) and local favourite Jigme D Denjongpam (27::58:37) finished second and third respectively.

Saluja got Rs 50,000 and Jigme got Rs 30,000.

With a view to promote mountain biking in Sikkim, Firefox Managing Director Shivender Singh, presented three cycles to three local riders who competed in the gurelling race.

Brinda Mohan Subba (17th position, 17::36:00), Sisir Khartam (21st, 20:51:58) and Padam Subba (26th, 23::57:09) received standing ovation as they received the cycles.

Meanwhile, Padam who was provisionally leading after the ninth and final leg, was relegated to second position on account to time penalty.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr GP Updhyaya,Commissioner-cum- Secretary, Toursim Department, Sikkim Government,congratulated the cyclists for braving the weather, terrain and rain to finish the gruelling race.

''It will be an annual affair. The Tourisim Department will also organise trekking and other adventure activities,'' said Mr Upadhyaya.


Please Wait while comments are loading...