Members nominated by Governor take oath except one

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Mar 14 (UNI) Members nominated by the Governor today took oath as Member of Legislative Council excect one who was absent today.

Out of 12 seats, six have gone in favour of Congress, five in NCP and one in RPI (A).

The six Congress nominees are Prof Suresh Navle, Alka Desai, Subhash Chavan, Mohan Joshi, M M Shaikh and Charansingh Sapra.

Jetendra Avad, Gurunath Kulkarni, Ram Padangale, and Ramesh Shendge are the four NCP nominees. Its fifth nominee is Prof Fauziya Khan who was absent at the ceremony.

Sumant Gaikawad (RPI-A) was the sixth canidate to be nominated from the NCP quota.

The nomination list indicates that Mr Avad, Mr Kulkarni and Prof Fauzia Khan have succeeded in getting renomination for the second term.

Prof Navle, a hardcore loyalist of Revenue Minister Narayan Rane was a Minister in the Shiv Sena-BJP government. Mr Joshi is the powerful leader from Pune. Mr Sapra and Ms Desai are from Mumbai.


Please Wait while comments are loading...