GK Vasan, TS Reddy to contest Rajya Sabha poll: Cong

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 13 (UNI) The Congress today decided to field eleven candidates to contest the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha, including Mr Motilal Vora, Petroleum Minister Murli Deora, Mr Prithviraj Chauhan (MoS in the PMO), Mr Rishang Keishing and Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation Mr G K Vasan.

Following are the Rajya Sabha candidates: Andhra Pradesh (Mr T Subbarami Reddy and Mr Nandi Yellaiah), Arunachal Pradesh (Mr Mukut Mithi), Assam (Mr Bhubaneshwar Kalita), Chhattisgarh (Mr Motilal Vora), Haryana (Dr Ram Prakash), Maharashtra (Mr Chauhan and Mr Murli Deora), Manipur (Mr Rishang Keishing), Orissa (Mr R C Khuntia) and Tamil Nadu (Mr G K Vasan).

Mr Oscar Fernandes, CWC Permanent Invitee, said in a press note that the names were cleared by party President Sonia Gandhi.

Ms Gandhi has also decided to field three candidates in the Legislative Council polls in Maharashtra and Bihar. They are Mr Sudhakar Gangane, Mr Shivajirao Deshmukh and Mr Jayaprakash Chhajeo (all Maharashtra) and Ms Jyothi (Bihar).

UNI SN Mir AS1617

Please Wait while comments are loading...