BJP candidates file nominations for Mar 26 Rajya Sabha election

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Mar 14 (UNI) BJP Rajasthan unit President Om Prakash Mathur and sitting Rajya Sabha MP Gyan Prakash Pilania today filed their nominations for the March 26 Rajya Sabha election from the State.

Mr Mathur has been nominated by the BJP for his maiden term, while Mr Pilania, whose present term expires next month, has been re-fielded by the party for a successive second term.

Both Mr Mathur and Mr Pilania reached at the Returning Officer's office here along with BJP leaders, including Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje.

Forty BJP legislators, inclduing Chief Minister Raje signed Mr Mathur's nomination as proposers and supporters. As many other ruling party MLAs have proposed and supported Mr Pilania's candidature.

The electoral process began on March 8 but only Mr Mathur and Mr Pilania have so far filed their papers.

While one seat has already been vacated by former External Affairs Minister K Natwar Singh, present term of Mr Pilania and Mahila Congress Chief Prabha Tahakur will expire next month.

Ms Thaukr has also been re-nominated by the Congress for another term and she will file her candidature tomorrow.

As per the present strength in the Rajasthan Assembly the ruling BJP is in a position to win two seats, while Congress can bag one.


Please Wait while comments are loading...