Independent MLA from Ghaziabad shakes hand with BSP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Mar 13 (UNI) Independent MLA Rajpal Tyagi today resigned from the Assembly and joined the ruling Bahujan Samaj Party in Uttar Pradesh.

Mr Tyagi, who was a minister in the erstwhile Mulayam Singh Yadav regime, won the last assembly poll from Muradnagar seat in Ghaziabad district as an independent candidate.

Assembly speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar has accepted his resignation.

Meanwhile, talking to mediapersons, Mr Tyagi said he decided to join the BSP as the Mayawati government was doing a good work for the people of the state.

''I also want to work for the people of Muradnagar and shower them with all benefits as a ruling party MLA,'' he said, adding that he will contest the by-election on the BSP ticket.

Admitting Mr Tyagi in the party fold, BSP state president and state cooperative minister Swami Prasad Maurya said joining of the leader will certainly strengthen the party in western parts of the state.

Mr Tyagi had to resign from the membership because as per rules an independent MLA can not join any party.


Please Wait while comments are loading...