Contest inevitable in TN RS poll, first time since 1986

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Mar 12 (UNI) For the first time after 1986, there will be a contest for the Rajya Sabha elections from Tamil Nadu assembly to elect six nominees as seven candidates are set to enter the fray.

A contest becomes inevitable as the opposition AIADMK announced Mr N Balaganga as its candidate and allotted one seat to its ally, the MDMK, which is likely to field its General Secretary Vaiko.

With ruling DMK already announcing two candidadtes, while allotting two to the Congress and one to the CPI(M), election would be held on March 26 for the election of six members to the Upper House.

With three days left for last date for filing of nomination papers, AIADMK General Secretary J Jayalalithaa announced that Mr Balaganga, party's Election wing joint secretary, who had unsuccessfully contested in the last Mayoral election, will be the party candidate.

The AIADMK, which was losing four Rajya Sabha members, whose term of office comes to an end on April two, decided to field one candidate, while allotting one seat to the MDMK, which has only six members in the assembly.

The Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK), which had threatened to field its own candidate after trying in vain to get a seat from the DMK, has convened its crucial Administrative committee meeting here tonight, to take a final decision on its stand.

A contest was held in 1986, when seven candidates entered the fray for six seats to the upper House. Janata Party nominee Era Sezhiyan was defeated by DMK nominee T R Baalu, who managed to scrape through in the third preference vote.


Please Wait while comments are loading...