Naidu, 31 TDP MLAs suspended from Assembly

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Mar 11: Leader of the Opposition in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly N Chandrababu Naidu and 31 other TDP MLAs were suspended from the House for the day for stalling the proceedings, demanding placing in the House the Lok Ayukta report on alleged misappropriation of funds for the Yellampalli irrigation project.

BJP Floor Leader G Kishan Reddy staged a walkout during the Question Hour, while TDP Legislature Party Deputy Leader T Devender Goud registered his party's protest over the Government's alleged refusal to place the report in the Assembly.

When the House reassembled after tea break, TDP members rushed to the Speaker's podium, raising slogans against the ''corrupt'' Congress government even as ministers moved the demands for grants for their departments.

After repeated appeals, Speaker K R Suresh Reddy named the protesting members. Following this, Legislative Affairs Minister K Rosaiah moved the resolution for their suspension, which was adopted by voice vote.

While Mr Naidu and a few other TDP members left the House on their own, marshalls bodily lifted other TDP members, who staged a sit-in in the well of the House.


Please Wait while comments are loading...