Meghalaya: Elected MLAs to take oath on Tuesday

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Mar 10: All the 59 newly elected MLAs in Meghalaya will be administered the oath of office at a ceremony in Raj Bhavan on Tuesday. With taking oath, the formality of constitution of new house will be completed.

Governor S S Sidhu had set Monday as the deadline for formation of the new government in the State. The Assembly elections results in Meghalaya on March 7 had produced a fractured mandate with no party getting a clear majority. The ruling Congress emerged as the single largest party with 25 seats and is expected to return to power at the head of a coalition with help from its regional allies and independents in the 60-member House.

Chief Minister D D Lapang won his seat but the party fared poorly in the Garo Hills region. The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), led by a former parliamentary speaker, Purno Agitok Sangma, won 14 seats in all.


Please Wait while comments are loading...