India bag eight gold on day one of South Asian Archery Champ

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jamshedpur, Mar 07 (UNI) Indian archers stole the limelight bagging eight gold in the inaugural edition of Indian round (Bamboo round) on the opening day of the Second South Asian Archery Championship at the JRD Tata Sports Complex here today.

Indian round which has been introduced as Bamboo round for the first time in this championship got a total 13 medals (8 gold,5 silver) followed by Nepal with one silver and three bronze and Bangladesh managed one silver and two bronze medals.

In the team championship of men's section Indian archers hit the bull's eye with precision collecting 1902 points for the top position while Nepal and Bangladesh were much behind the hosts to secure second and third spots with 1407 and 1183 points respectively.

In the women's team championship India also proved its supremacy with 1819 points. Bangladesh picked up silver with 853 points while Nepal managed 632 points for the bronze.

In a close finish Th Sanatomba (315 points) and S.Basanta (314 points) of India secured first and second position in the 50 metres distance while Nepal's Shyam Kumar Tilijapun had 235 points to be in the third position. The 30 meters men's round also witnessed India's domination in which Ashok Soren became first with 326 points and Th Sanatomba (325) got second spot while Tilijapun of Nepal was third after collecting 261 points.

Sanatomba continued his good work in the individual champion too as he earned 640 points for gold while Soren lagged by eight points to his compatriot to satisfy with silver. Tiljapun again had to be contended with bronze with 496 points.

In the women's 50 and 30 meters and Individual champion, India's Nitu Engole competed with her compatriot Prativa Boro as the former bagged gold in the all three categories while the latter got silver with close contest. Rina Chamka of Bangladesh annexed three bronze medals in these three events.

Earlier, S N Pradhan IG (Provision), Jharkhand, inaugurated the three-day meet in which apart from host India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan and Srilanka are participating.


Please Wait while comments are loading...