Hung Assembly likely in Meghalaya, Cong bags 25 seats

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shillong, Mar 7 (UNI) Meghalaya stared at a hung Assembly as the Congress remained six short of simple majority securing 25 of the 59 seats in the Assembly polls.

However, possibilities of a coalition government could not be ruled out as former alliance partner United Democratic Party won 11 seats raising visions of another coalition government in the state.

The Nationalist Congress Party bagged 13 seats in all while the BJP has won only one seat against two last time.

Chief Minister D D Lapang retained his Nongpoh seat defeating UDP's Celestine Lyngdoh by 730 votes.

Former Lok Sabha Speaker and NCP's chief ministerial candidate Purno A Sangma wrested the Tura seat from Independent candidate Billykid A Sangma.

Assembly Speaker Martin M Danggoo of Congress retained the Langrin seat defeating UDP's K Lyngkhoi.

Former Deputy Chief Minister Donkupar Roy of UDP bagged the Shella seat beating nearest rival Leston Wanswett of Congress by 939 votes. His party has bagged two more seats--Salmanpura and Jirang.

BJP candidate A L Hek retained his Pynthorumkhrah seat for the third time defeating his nearest rival NCP's J M Pariat. However, the party's margin declined by one seat this time.

Among other Congress losers were deputy speaker P W Muktieh who lost to UDP's Donbok Khymdeit in Mawhati. S C Marak, a former chief minister, suffered defeat at the hands of NCP's Timothy Shira by a slim margin of 292 votes in Resubelapara. Another former chief minister J D Rymbai of UDP defeated Congress' William Mynsong in Jirang. Minister in the outgoing Assembly M I Sarkar lost to Independent A T Mondol in Phulbari constituency by a margin of 2418 votes.

Opposition leader Admiral K Sangma of NCP was defeated by Salseng Sangma of Congress in Dalamgiri.

Polling in Baghmara seat in South Garo Hills, countermanded following the death of Congress MLA and candidate Sengran M Sangma, would be held on March 22. Counting would be taken uo on March 24.


Please Wait while comments are loading...