Thackeray deplores Bihar MPs' tirade against Maharashtra

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai/New Delhi, Mar 5 (UNI) Shiv Sena chief Bal Thackeray today denounced the tirade against Maharashtra by the Bihar MPs saying such behaviour was akin to spitting on the plate from which they have eaten, a comment which drew sharp criticism from several Lok Sabha members who submitted a privilege notice against him.

Mr Thackeray has made a vitriolic attack on the Bihar MPs, particularly Prabhunath Singh, in a caustic editorial in Shiv Sena mouthpiece ''Saamna'' today. The editorial is entitled ''Ek Bihar sau bimar, khallya mithala jaga'', which loosely translated means ''One Bihari spreads a hundred illnesses. Be loyal to the salt you have eaten''.

Mr Thackeray went on to say that during the recent anti-migrants stir, few Hindi-speaking persons were beaten up but this was blown out of proportions by the electronic media so much so that now the issue figures in the Parliament despite other burning matters facing the country.

Seeking to downplay the anti-migrants stir, Mr Thackeray said in the editorial that a Mumbai-based Bihari cultural organisation had, a few days back, sent letters to leaders in Bihar saying they were facing no problems in Mumbai and the leaders should stop politicising the issue.

Taking umbrage at the derogatory comments against Biharis by Mr Thackerey in the party organ, the Lok Sabha members submitted the privilege notice against him to the Lok Sabha secretariat.

The copy of the Marathi daily was attached with the notice.

According to the notice, Mr Thackeray's comments in the Marathi newspaper's editorial lowered the dignity and sovereignty of the House and insulted the members, north Indians and national leaders of various political parties.

'Saamna's' editorial had commented on the debate held in the Lok Sabha over the incidents of violence against north Indians in Maharashtra and Union Home Minister Shivraj Patil's assurance that the rights of north Indians in the state would be protected.

The notice said the Shiv Sena Chief's ''commentary'' has not only violated the privileges of the members but also ''openly undermined the dignity of the House''.

Mr Devendra Prasad Yadav, Mr Sadhu Yadav, Mr Prabhunath Singh, Mr Vijay Krishan, Mr Ilias Azmi, Mr Akhilesh, Mr Surendra Goel and Mr Ramkripal Yadav were among the 18 signatories to the notice.


Please Wait while comments are loading...