Curfew imposed in Dimapur, Mon towns

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Mar 03: Prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC have been promulgated in some parts of Dimapur and Mon towns to maintain peace and tranquility following poll-related violence in those areas since last evening.

Official sources said here today that following reported clashes between supporters of rival groups in Purana Bazar and surrounding areas, Dimapur Deputy Commissioner Abhijit Sinha, who is also the District Magistrate, in an order yesterday, prohibited the gathering of more than five persons from 1800 hours to 0600 hours in the Purana Bazar, Darogajan, Kushiabil, Ekranipathar, Erabil, Padumpukhuri, Toluvi, Samaguri, Bamunpukhuri 'A' and 'B', Naharbari, Hollohon Colony and Dubagaon areas.

Mr Sinha, in his order, said the curfew was imposed following reports of clashes between groups and damages to vehicles, propertY and people being injured and there were apprehensions of more such incidents unless appropriate restrictions were imposed. "The curfew comes into force from Sunday evening till further orders," Mr Sinha stated.

Mon Deputy Commissioner and District Magistrate M Patton, in an order, clamped prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC outside the village and town parameters within Mon district with effect from Sunday, prohibiting movement of any person from 1900 hours to 0500 hours until further orders.

However, magistrates, policemen, security forces, medical staff and duty and others issued with special movement permits, are exempted from the purview of the orders.


Please Wait while comments are loading...