Haryana halts Delhi's winning streak, hosts go down by 26 runs

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 3 (UNI) Haryana halted Delhi's winning streak as Amit Mishra claimed three crucial wickets to guide his team to a 26-run victory in their Ranji One-Day (North Zone) match played at the Feroz Shah Kotla here today.

Defending their score of 258, Haryana did well to restrict the star-studded Delhi batting to 232 for nine.

Delhi had their worst start in the tournament as in-form batsman Akash Chopra was out in the very first over before he could open his account with the team score at two.

By the 13th over, the hosts had lost four batsmen with just 57 on the board.

For Haryana, Amit Mishra produced an important spell as he claimed three wickets including those of Delhi captain Mithun Manhas (57) and Rajat Bhatia (34).

Mishra bowled a tidy line and finished with figures of three for 29 runs in his 10 overs.

However, a 46-run ninth wicket stand between Chetnaya Nanda and Amit Bhandari (14) threatened to take the match away from the visitors.

But Amardeep Sonkar claimed Bhandari's wicket just in time to make task difficult for Nanda who scored a gritty 52 off 62 balls which included five fours and two sixes.

In the morning, Haryana, after being invited to bat first, started slowly to put on 66 runs for the first wicket stand.

But three quick wickets in a space of 12 runs put the visitors on backfoot and were reduced to 78 for three in the 21st over.

Then a timely 86-run stand for the fourth wicket between Kamal Beniwal (52 off 69 balls) and Sunny Singh (59 off 68 balls) stitched the innings for the visitors.

Haryana did well to improve their scoring rate as they smashed 73 runs in the last ten overs to reach 258 for seven wickets.

Scoreboard: Haryana innings: Amardeep Sonkar c Bisht b NS Negi 42 Nitin Saini runout 17 Sunny Singh c Akash b Nanda 59 Sachin Rana c Chopra b Awana 1 Kamal Beniwal runout 52 Abir Lavasa c Manhas b Bhandari 37 Sumit Sharma not out 18 Dhruv Singh b Bhandari 13 Amit Mishra not out 1 Extras: (B 5, LB 3, NB 1, W 9) 18 Total: (in 50 overs) 258 for 7 Fall of Wickets: 1/66, 2/77, 3/78, 4/164, 5/225, 6/226, 7/245 Bowling: Amit Bhandari 9-0-48-2 Parvinder Awana 9-0-53-1 NS Negi 10-0-24-1 Suhail Sharma 10-0-49-0 Rajat Bhatia 4-0-19-0 Chetanya Nanda 7-0-44-0 Mithun Manhas 1-0-13-0 Delhi innings Akash Chopra c Saini b Sanjay 0 Shikhar Dhawan c Kamal b Rana 2 Puneet Bisht b Rana 16 Mithun Manahas st Saini b Mishra 57 Mayank Tehlan c Saini b Sanjay 1 Rajat Bhatia b Mishra 34 NS Negi LBW b Amardeep 21 Suhail Sharma st Saini b Mishra 7 Chetanya Nanda not out 52 Amit Bhandari c Abir b Amardeep 14 Parvinder Aana not out 1 Extras: (LB 5, W 22) 27 Total: (in 50 overs) 232 for 9 Fall of Wickets: 1/2, 2/12, 3/52, 4/57, 5/120, 6/139, 7/155, 8/169, 9/215 Bowling: Sanjay Budhwar 10-1-40-2 Sachin Rana 9-0-42-2 Dhruv Singh 2-0-13-0 Sunny Singh 2-0-16-0 Amardeep Sonkar 10-0-51-2 Amit Mishra 10-0-29-3 Gaurav 7-0-36-0 UNI RAR AB HS2150

Please Wait while comments are loading...