12 TDP members suspended from Council

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Mar 3 (UNI) Leader of the Opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) D Veerabhadra Rao and 11 of his partymen have been suspended from the Legislative Council today for stalling the proceedings of the House.

Trouble started when Chairman A Chakrapani disallowed the party's Adjournment Motion demanding the House to pass a resolution for waiver of farm loans announced by the Central Government without any conditions.

Though Agriculture Minister N Raghuveera Reddy informed members the matter could be discussed during the discussion on agriculture, the TDP members did not listen and raised slogans demanding passage of resolution.

When the TDP members raised slogans during Question Hour, Legislative Affairs Minister K Rosaiah told them it was the responsibility of every member to co-operate with the Chair to run the House and leave if they did not like to continue.

Despite appeals by the Chairman to restore order, the members continued to raise slogans. The Agricultural Minister then moved a motion urging the chair to suspend the TDP members. The Chairman named the TDP members and asked them to leave the House.


Please Wait while comments are loading...