TN, Karantaka set up title clash in final league match

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Mar 1 (UNI) Defending champions Karnataka and host Tamil Nadu chalked out big wins to be level in points tally 18 points each with the final league match between the two teams on Monday to decide the eventual title winner of the Ranji Trophy Limited over Cricket tournament for the K Subbaiah Pillai trophy here today.

In the penultimate round Karnataka crushed Kerala by 132 runs and claimed five points, including a bonus point, while Tamil Nadu chased down a stiff target against Goa to maintain a clean slate, thanks to centuries by M Vijay (100, 101 balls, 10x4, 3x6) and S Vidyut (111, 90 balls, 11x4, 3x6).

Tamil Nadu scored 295 for five in 42.3 overs, and won with 7.3 overs to spare.

However, as the top two teams, both Karnataka and Tamil Nadu qualified from South Zoen for the All India Inter zonal knock out limited overs tournament.

In the other league match, Hyderabad tasted their first success, defeating Goa by 62 runs to win with a bonus point.

The match between Tamil Nadu and Andhra witnessed carnival of fours and sixes. It was virtually a treat for the motley crowd as nearly 600 runs were scored with 56 fours and 13 sixers in the match.

Put into bat, Andhra rattled up 292 in 48.3 overs, with H Watekar (71, 77 balls, 7x4, 2x6), D Kalyan Krishna (30, 33 balls, 5x4), A S K Verma (75, 85 balls 6x4, 1x6), A G Pradeep (73, 65 balls, 6x4, 2x6) coming good with the bat.

Tamil Nadu started their chase on the wrong note losing two wickets for 34 runs, before Vijay's second successive 100 and Vidyut's second century of the tournament paved the way for a comprehensive win. Both of them added 184 in 154 balls for the third wicket.

Brief Scores: Andhra 292 all out in 48.3 overs (H Watekar 71, D Kalyan Krishna 30, A S K Verma 75, A G Pradeep 73, M K Sivakumar two for 47, R Prasanna two for 33) lost to Tamil Nadu 295 for five in 42.3 overs (K B Arun kartik 32, M Vijay, 100, S Vidyut 111, S Badrinath 27 not out, D Kalyan Krishnan two for 33) Pts : TN-4, Andhra-0.



Please Wait while comments are loading...