Sixteen Central Universities to come up

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 29 (UNI) The Government will establish 16 Central Universities in each of the hitherto uncovered States. This was stated by the Finance Minister P Chidambaram while presenting the General Budget 2008-09 in Lok Sabha today. Mr Chidambaram said the Government also proposed to set up three IITs in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar and Rajasthan; two IISERs at Bhopal and Tiruvananthapuram; and two Schools of Planning and Architecture at Bhopal and Vijaywada.

More institutes of higher education, as promised by the Prime Minister, would be established during the Eleventh Plan period, he added.

A grant of Rs 5 crore has been proposed for the Deccan College Post-Graduate and Research Institute, Pune which is one of the oldest institutions of modern learning in India.


Please Wait while comments are loading...