Karnataka crush Kerala with a bonus point

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Mar 1 (UNI) India discard Sunil Joshi (2 for eight) and K P Appanna (four for eight) struck in tandem to enable defending champions Karnataka crush Kerala by 132 runs in the fourth round-robin match of the South zone Ranji trophy limited overs cricket championship for K Subbaiah Pillai trophy here today.

Chasing a target of 248, the Kerala batsmen fell to the guiles of the left arm spinners and dramatically collapsed from a steady 100 for three in 19.4 overs to 115 all out in 26.1 overs.

Kerala lost their last seven wickets for 15 runs in 6.3 overs, and helped Karnataka to gain five points, including a bonus point, as the match ended long before the scheduled close.

Earlier, batting first Karnataka made 247 in 49.2 overs with C M Goutham top scoring with 76 (77 balls, 12x4).

Deepak Chowgule 30 (64 balls, 2x4), C Raghu (42, 63 balls, 1x4), wicket-keeper Devraj Patil (40, 33 balls, 4x4) and Amit Verma (31, 33 balls, 2x4) all got starts but failed to build up a big score.

For Kerala, left arm medium pacer Prashant Parameswaram claimed six wickets.

The fifth and last league match between Karnataka and last year's runner up Tamil Nadu tomorrow, will virtually be the final as the outcome would decide the champion. Tamil Nadu were narrowly ahead in the points tally yesterday.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 247 in 49.2 overs (C M Goutham 76, Deepak Chowgule 30, C Raghu 42, Devraj Patil 40, Amit Verma 31, Prashant Parameswaran six for 35) bt Kerala 115 in 26.1 overs (Raibhi V Gomez 39, Sebastian Antony 20, Sreekumar Nair 37, Sunil Joshi two for eight, K P Appanna four for eight).

Pts: Karnataka-5 (including a bonus point), Kerala-minus one.


Please Wait while comments are loading...