Awana claims 4 wickets as Delhi downs Himachal by 8 wickets

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 1 (UNI) Delhi stretched their winning streak to three matches as Parvinder Awana's four wickets led them to a comfortable 8-wicket win over Himachal Pradesh in the Ranji one day (North Zone) played at Feroz Shah Kotla here today.

After electing to field first, Delhi bowlers responded well to their captain's call to leave Himachal tottering at seven for 40 in just the 12th over.

Himachal's Mukesh Sharma scored 84 off 115 balls to put up some resistance against the Delhi bowlers as he held up one end only to see his other teammates getting out to some impressive bowling by Delhi.

Finally, Sharma managed to take his team's score to 160 and provided his bowlers something to bowl at.

Awana used the morning conditions well as he claimed four wickets giving away just 30 runs and was well supported by his new-ball partner Amit Bhandari who claimed two for 24.

However, the Delhi openers, who have been in tremendous form in the tournament, saw a change with Mayank Tehlan promoted to open the innings with Shikhar Dhawan.

Dhawan and Tehlan took their team score to 110 before Vishal Bhatia dismissed the latter at the individual score of 45.

Two overs later Dhawan fell to a Sarandeep Singh delivery.

He scored a well-made 70 that came off 83 balls and included 10 well-timed hits to the fence.

But then captain Mithun Minhas along with Rajat Bhatia took Delhi to a comprehensive win with more than 14 overs still left.

With this win, Delhi moves to the knockout stage as the leader from North Zone as they have defeated Jammu and Kashmir and Punjab previously.

Scoreboard: Ranji One-Day Trophy, 2007/08, North Zone Delhi v Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh innings Hemant Dogra b Awana 1 Sandeep Sharma lbw b Negi 22 Vikram Malik b Bhandari 1 Paras Dogra b Bhandari 0 M S Bisla b Awana 0 Mukesh Sharma not out 84 Ajay Mannu b Awana 0 Rishi Dhawan c sub b Awana 1 Sarandeep Singh lbw b Bhatia 12 Vishal Bhatia b Suhail Sharma 10 Ashok Thakur not out 17 Extras (LB 4, W 8) 12 Total (in 50 overs) 160 for 9 Fall of Wickets: 1/7, 2/12, 3/12, 4/21, 5/31, 6/32, 7/40, 8/72, 9/88.

Bowling: Amit Bhandari 7-2-24-2, Parvinder Awana 10-0-30-4, NS Negi 10-2-23-1, Chetanya Nanda 6-0-26-0, Rajat Bhatia 7-2-27-1, Suhail Sharma 10-1-26-1 Delhi innings Mayank Tehlan c Bisla b Bhatia 45 Shikhar Dhawan c Mannu b Sarandeep Singh 70 Mithun Manhas not out 31 Rajat Bhatia not out 15 Extras (W 1, NB 1) 2 Total (in 35.3 overs) 163 for 2 Fall of wickets: 1/110, 2/128 Bowling: Ashok Thakur 5.5-0-21-0, VS Malik 8-0-44-0 Ajay Mannu 0.4-0-4-0, Rishi Dhawan 5-0-24-0 Sarandeep Singh 9-0-34-1,Vishal Bhatia 6-0-30-1 Mukesh Sharma 1-0-6-0 UNI RAR AB KP2013

Please Wait while comments are loading...