Double delight for 5-years-old Prithviraj More

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Feb 28 (UNI) Little dynamo Prithviraj More was the toast of the day as he earned a double delight by winning the boys' under-6 80m and 50m sprints in grand fashion, in the Maharashtra State Sub Junior Athletic Championship 2008, held at the Andheri Sports Complex today.

The Championship is organised by the Mumbai Suburban District Athletic Association (MSDAA).

Five-year-old More stole many hearts when he helped himself to a brilliant double and caught the attention of the MSDAA's talent scouts.

Nachiket Gupte of Mumbai Suburban won the boys under-14 high jump with an effort of 1.51 mts, pushing compatriot Kamlesh Nadar to the second place while Thane's Narendra Karayat was third.

Varun Taneja, who won the boys under-12 shot put silver on the opening day, made amends when he snatched the boys under-12 long jump gold with a leap of 4.55 mts. Tushar Rane of Pune was second, while Ameya Darekar of the metropolis finished third.

Results: All Finals: Boys U-14: High jump: 1. Nachiket Gupte (Mumbai Suburban) 1.51 mts; 2. Kamlesh Nadar (Mumbai Suburban) 1.51 mts; 3. Narendra Karayat (Thane) 1.48 mts.

Boys U-12: 100m: 1. Siddhant Vora (Mumbai City) 13.6 sec; 2. Aryaman Sethi (Mumbai Suburban) 13.8 sec; 3. Leon Poorekhorsandi (Mumbai Suburban) 14.0 sec.

Boys U-12: Long jump: 1. Varun Taneja (Thane) 4.55 mts; 2. Tushar Rane (Pune) 4.50 mts; 3. Ameya Darekar (Mumbai Suburban) 4.42 mts.

Boys U-10: 50m: 1. Anand Patel (Mumbai Suburban) 7.6 sec; 2. Yash Zad (Mumbai Suburban) 7.8 sec; 3. Piyush Deshmukh (Thane) 7.9 sec.

Boys U-6: 80m: 1. Prithviraj More (Dahisar SF), 2. Shubham Vishwakarma (St. Mary's HS), 3. Manish Pa (St. Xavier's, Andheri West).

Boys U-6: 50m: 1. Prithviraj More (Dahisar Sports Foundation) , 2.

Shivam Patel (St. Mary's HS), 3. Mohit Kotenkar (VPM, Dahisar).

Girls U-12: 100m: 1. Karen Mistry (Mumbai City) 13.7 sec; 2. Manali Muley (Thane) 14.4 sec; 3. Indrane Sarode (Thane) 14.6 sec.

Girls U-12: Long jump: 1. Akshaya Iyyer (Thane) 4.31 mts; 2. Tanvi Mungekar (Thane) 4.19 mts; 3. Manali Muley (Thane) 4.14 mts.

Girls U-10: Long jump: 1. Soniya Rodrigues (Mumbai City) 3.55 mts; 2. Sakshi Mishra (Mumbai City) 3.44 mts; 3. Diksha Shetty (Mumbai Suburban) 3.43 mts.

Girls U-10: 50m: 1. Diksha Shetty (Mumbai Suburban) 7.8 sec; 2.

Disha Vakharia (Mumbai Suburban) 8.0 sec; 3. Meenaz Daruwala (Mumbai City) 8.2 sec.

Gilrs U-6: 80m: 1. Kshama Poojari (VPM, Dahisar), 2. Preet Hirapara (St. Mary's HS), 3. Sejal Kardekar (St. Xavier's, Andheri West).

Girls U-6: 50m: 1. Preet Hirapara (St. Mary's HS), 2. Sejal Kardekar (St. Xavier's, Andheri West), 3. Preeyam Pathak (St. Xavier's, Andheri W).


Please Wait while comments are loading...