Bhatia leads Himachal to 8-wicket win over Haryana

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 28 (UNI) Vishal Bhatia grabbed four wickets for 32 runs as Himachal thrashed Haryana by eight wickets in their Ranji Trophy (North Zone) one-day match here today.

Haryana, who chose to bat first were off to a poor start as were tottering on 37 for two in the 10th over.

Sarandeep Singh then dismissed Amardeep Sonkar (32) to leave Haryana struggling at 65 for three.

Sachin Rana (73) and Abir Lyasa (12) took Haryana past the 100-run mark before the latter was caught leg before by Vishal Bhatia.

Rana, who top scored for Haryana, hit five boundaries and a six in his 114-ball innings.

The rest of the Harayana batsmen failed to counter the Himachal bowlers as their innings folded for a total of 193 runs.

Himachal started their innings on a bright note as Hemant Dogra (74) and Sandeep Sharma (59) kept Haryana bowlers at bay and put on a 144-run opening partnership.

Himachal lost vtwo quick wickets as the two openetrs departed in quick succession but a 47-run stand for the third wicket took Himachal to victory.

Scoreboard: Haryana: Amardeep Sonkar c P Dogra b Sarandeep Singh 32 Amit Mishra c&b Thakur 0 Sunny Singh b Malik 20 Sachin Rana c Bhatia b Malik 73 Abir Layasa lbw b Bhatia 12 Sumit Sharma b Bhatia 9 Prem Prateek b Bhatia 4 Priyank Hooda b Bhatia 8 Sandeep Singh run out 10 Jitender Billa c Bisla b Dhawan 4 Sanjay Budhwar not out 8 Extras (lb 4, w 8, nb 1) 13 Total (in 49.5 overs) 193 all out Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-37, 3-65, 4-104, 5-128, 6-144, 7-160, 8-180, 9-182, 10-193 Bowling: Ashok Thakur 10-1-38-1, Vickramjeet Malik 10-0-33-2, Rishi Dhawan 6.5-0-27-1, Sarandeep Singh 10-0-43-1, Vishal Bhatia 10-1-32-4, Mukesh Sharma 3-0-16-0 Himachal Pradesh: H Dogra c&b Mishra 74 Sandeep Sharma c&b Prateek 59 P Dogra not out 37 MS Bisla not out 10 Extras (b 4, lb 4, w 7, nb 2) 17 Total (in 44 overs) 197 for 2 Fall of wickets: 1/144 Bowling: S Budhwar 2-0-20-0, JT Billa 4-0-24-0 Sunny Singh 5-1-27-0, S Rana 1-1-0-0 AB Sonkar 6-0-27-0, A Mishra 10-0-43-1 P Huda 8-2-25-0, P Prateek 8-0-33-1 UNI AB RAR KP2200

Please Wait while comments are loading...