Bengal, Orissa defeat Assam, Tripura

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guwahati, Feb 28 (UNI) The West Bengal team defeated Assam while Orissa scrapped past Tripura in the East Zone Ranji one-dayers being played here simultaneously.

Bengal, despite lack of experience and depth, restricted Assam to a mere 147 and then strolled past the total losing only one wicket.

However in the Nehru Stadium, Tripura scored 260 runs and Orissa found home only with five balls to spare.

In the first match, Assam never got a chance as Bengal removed the top order with just 31 runs on the score board.

A gutsy showing by last man Krishna Das and S Sarath, who remained not out with 80, allowed Assam to cross 100.

Das and Sarath were the only batsmen to reach double figures.

The Bengal bowlers never allowed the Assam batsmen to settle and everybody except A Chakrabvarty picked up wickets with Iresh Sharma getting two wickets giving away just 14 runs in his six overs.

Meanwhile, Tripura, opting to bat first, put up a descent 260.

Their innings revolved around opener Saurav Dubey who missed a well deserved century by just seven runs.

The middle order contributed nothing significantly. But Rajeev Saha gave him some company with a useful 39.

But Orissa, despite losing P Patel early, marched on confidently and every batsman contributed successfully chase the target. Shiv Sundar Das joined opener Bhakar Roy Patir to take the score to 66.

The Orissa innings was built by Patir and P R Sinha, who also scored a gallant 64 runs before ran himself out. Coming at number five H Das held the later part of the Orissa innings together and guided the team home.

Score in brief: Assam 147 ( S Sarath 80, K Das 4; Iresh Saxen 2/14, S S Paul 2/42) Bengal 148 for (29 overs) A Mazumdar 47, Arundam Das 60; Arlen Konwar 1/47) Results: Bengal won by nine wickets Tripura 260 for 9 (Saurav Dubey 93, Rajesh Saha 39; P Das 3/41,PJaichandra 3/29) Orissa 263/6 in 49.1 overs( Bikash Patir 78, P R Sinha 64, H Das 50, Tushar Saha 2/49) Results: Orissa won by 4 wickets.


Please Wait while comments are loading...