20 TDP MLAs suspended from AP Assembly

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Feb 25: Twenty members of main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) were suspended from the Andhra Pradesh Assembly today for stalling the proceedings in protest against the alleged neglect of social welfare hostels in the state by the Congress government.

While TDP legislature party secretary E Dayakara Rao was suspended till February 29, 19 other TDP members were suspended for the day. The trouble started when Mr Dayakara Rao frequently interrupted Social Welfare Minister P Subhashchandra Bose's reply to a question on the condition of social welfare hostels in the state. After giving several warnings, Speaker K R Suresh Reddy named the member for unruly behaviour. Following this, Legislative Affairs Minister K Rosaiah moved the resolution for his suspension till Friday.

Soon, agitated TDP members rushed to the well of the House and disrupted the proceedings. As repeated appeals to the TDP members to return to their seats fell on deaf ears, the Speaker named them.

The Assembly resolution moved by Mr Rosaiah was adopted by voice vote.

High drama was witnessed in the Assembly when the TDP members refused to leave the House as marshals were summoned who physically lifted them out.

Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy said it was unfortunate that the TDP was politicising each and every issue and stalling the proceedings for 'cheap' publicity.

As Leader of the House he tendered apology to the Speaker on behalf of Dayakara Rao for unruly behaviour.


Please Wait while comments are loading...