Rajendra Soni wins NMSA cycle race in record time

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Feb 25 (UNI) Seasoned Rajendra Soni of Central Railway emerged champion when he bagged the 17th Navi Mumbai Sports Association Cycle Race 2008 in record time and clinched the title for the fifth time.

The race, organised under the auspices of the Amateur Cycling Association of Bombay Suburban District, was sponsored by the Navi Mumbai Sports Association (NMSA), Vashi.

Soni clinched the top spot in a record time of 2 hours. 41 min.

30.30 sec. from Vashi to Khopoli and back (110 Km). Soni took advantage of the cool and pleasant climate and good road conditions as he left the rest of the pack behind.

Soni eclipsed Central Railway team mate and last year's winner Hapreet Singh's record of 2 hours. 46 mins. 57 secs. Harpreet, who finished fourth this time, had set the record last year.

Soni's Central Railway compatriots, Vikram Singh stood second, while Amandeep Singh finished third.

The Prime Prize at the 55km half way stage was won by last year's runner-up Uttam Nale, also of Central Railway, in a timing of 1 hour 19 min 32 sec.

The race attracted 45 entries from the metropolis, Pune, Nasik, Central Railway and included national champions and former winners of the Bombay-Pune cycle race. Twenty-six cyclists completed the race.

The race was flagged off by Joint Honorary Secretary of NMSA Arun Patil, while Deputy RTO of the Traffic Police, (Vashi) Bharat Kalaskar, who was the Chief Guest presented the prizes.

Results: 1. Rajendra Soni (C. Rly), 2 hours. 41 min. 30.30 sec.; 2. Vikram Singh (C. Rly); 3. Aamandeep Singh (C. Rly); 4.

Harpreet Singh (C. Rly); 5. Uttam Nale (C. Rly); 6. Krishna Dhawale (Mumbai).


Please Wait while comments are loading...