Final voter list for ULB elections by June 30

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Feb 25 (UNI) The final voters' list for the coming elections to two municipal corporations and 94 Municipal councils and Notified Area Councils in Orissa would be issued by June 20.

State election Commissioner Sanjeev Hota gave a direction in this regard during an all-party preparatory meeting here today.

The elections would be held as out of 103 urban local bodies the tenure of 96 local bodies would be completed in September next.

The meeting decided to accept the voters' list published by the Election Commission on January 1 this year as the basis for preparing the final voters' list.

Those who completed 18 years of age by this date and did not figure in the list for the assembly elections could apply for inclusion in the list.

The state government had already completed the delimitation of the urban bodies and announced reservation system for various categories.

As per the decision, while the post of Cuttack Muncipal Corporation would remain a general seat as before, the post of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation had been reserved for backward classes.

Out of the 94 municipal councils while 55 would be general, 14 would be reserved for ST, seven for SC and 18 for OBC.

As many as 32 seats would be reserved for women. Out of 32, while 18 would be reserved for general category, seven seats reserved for OBC, two for SC and five for ST.

Electronic Voting Machines would be used in the elections.

Representatives from BJD, BJP, CPI, CPI-M, Samrudha Orissa, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Bira Oriya, NCP, Orissa Communist Party, RP, Kalinga Sena and JMM participated in the all-party meeting.


Please Wait while comments are loading...