EC announces RS biennial elections on Mar 26

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 25: Biennial elections to fill up 56 vacancies in the Rajya Sabha from 17 states will be held on March 26, the Election Commission announced today.

Four vacancies from the state of Karnataka cannot be filled in the biennial elections due to the non-existence of the electoral college in the state the assembly of which was dissolved on November 28th.

In all there were 60 vacancies to the upper House of Parliament.

The notification for the elections will be issued on March 9.

The last date for filing nominations is March 15. Scrutiny will take place on March 17. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 19.

The poll will be held on March 26 and the counting of votes will be taken up on the same day after 1700 hrs.

The entire election process will be completed on March 29.

Biennial elections will also be held on March 26 for nine seats each in the Legislative Councils of Maharashtra and Bihar.

Simultaneously a byelection will also be held to fill a casual vacancy in the COuncil of States from Bihar, which occurred due to the death of Motiur Rahman on December 18 last year.

The States from where the Rajya Sabha vacancies are to be filledup are Maharashtra (seven), Orissa (4), Tamil Nadu (6), West Bengal(5), Andhra Pradesh (6), Assam (3). Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (2), Gujarat(4), Haryana (2), Himachal pradesh one), Jharkhand (2), Madhya Pradesh (3), Manipur (One), Rajasthan (3), Meghalaya (One) and Arunachal Pradesh (One), the EC note added.

The seven members from Maharashtra retiring on April 2 are Goyal Vedprakash Prithvinath, Chavan Prithviraj Dajisaheb, Thakur Eknath Keshav, Deora Murli Sitaram, Dhoot Rajkumar Nandlal, P C Alexander and Dattatraya Raghobaji Meghe. The four members from Orissa who are retiring on April 2 are Surendra Lath, Pramila Bahidar, Sushree Devi and Dilip Kumar Ray.

The six members from Tamil Nadu retiring on April 2 include Shunmugasundaram, S M Syed Khan, Thanga Tamilselvan, C perumal, G K Vasan and N Jothi.

The five members of West Bengal retiring on April 2 are Dinesh Trivedi, Prasanta Chatterjee, Tarini Kanta Ray, Sk Khabir Uddin Ahmed and Debabrata Biswas.

The six members of Andhra Pradesh are retiring on April 9. These are Akarapu Sudershan, Thikkavarapu Subba Rami Reddi, Lal Jan Basha S M, N P Durga, Nanda Yellaiah and Ravula Chandra Sheker Reddy.

The three members of Assam retiring on April 9 include Karnendu Bhattacharya, Dwijendra Nath Sharmah and Urkhao Gwra Brahma.

The five members of Bihar retiring on April 9 are Prem Chand Gupta, Ramdeb Bhandary, Magni Lal Mandal, Vashist Narain Singh and Shatrughan Pd Singh.

Mr Motilal Vora and Mr Ramdhar from Chhattisgarh are retiring on April 9.

The members from Gujarat retiring on April 9 are Keshubhai Patel, Savdasbhai, Jayantilal Sitaram Barot and Alkaben Balarambhai Kshatriya Gujarat.

Mr Ram Prakash and Harendra Singh Malik from Haryana are retiring on April 9.

The two members from Jharkhand retiring on April 9 include Ajay Kumar Masro and Devdas Apte.

The three members from Madhya Pradesh retiring on April 9 are Maya Singh, Mohammad Obedulla Khan and Suresh Pachouri.

Mr Rishand Keishing from Manipur is retiring on April 9.

The three members of Rajasthan retiring on April 9 are Gyan Prakash Pilania, K Natwar Singh and Prabha Thakur.

Mr Robert Kharshiing from Meghalaya is retiring on 12 April and the member from Arunachal Pradesh Nabam Rebia is retiring on April 26.

Besides, the four members from Karnataka, who are retiring on April 9 are Janardhan Poojary, Prema Cariappa, M V Rajashekaran and Vijay Mallya. However, these seats cannot be filled under the present dissolved Assembly in the state.


Please Wait while comments are loading...