Sydney, Feb 25 (UNI) India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni today assured that he will not use the wicketkeeping gloves he wore during Australia's innings in the Sydney ODI after they were found to be in breach of the laws of cricket.
Earlier, Dhoni's gloves were reported to have extra webbing between the thumb and the forefinger as the match officials which included the two on-field umpires, third umpire Bruce Oxenford and match referee Jeff Crowe asked the Indian wicketkeeper to change his gloves in India's 18-run loss to Australia yesterday at ydney.
According to law 40.2, ''The wicketkeeper's gloves shall have no webbing between the fingers except joining index finger and thumb, where webbing may be inserted as a means of support.
Crowe said explaining the ruling saying, ''after I raised my concern in the India dressing room, Dhoni immediately changed his gloves on the advice of the India team management which was a reasonable thing to do.
''These gloves were then inspected after the match by the third umpire, myself and later by the two on-field umpires. The three umpires ruled that the gloves were in breach of Laws of Cricket.
''Dhoni has not been penalized on this occasion but he has been advised that if he uses the gloves again before they have been modified, inspected and cleared, he could be charged for a breach of Clause C1 of the Code of Conduct,'' Crowe said.
UNI XC RAR RKM RN1503