Delimitation causes a flutter among politicians in UP

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Feb 25: The new delimitation of parliamentary and assembly constituencies has created several problems for the political stalwarts who will have to search new seats now to enter the assmebly or Lok Sabha whenever the polls take place.

The political leaders affected due to delimitation included chief Minister Mayawati, Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav, and BJP president Rajnath Singh, who are sure to take fresh guard in the next elections.

While the seats of Bharthana which is represented by Mulayam Singh Yadav and Haidergarh, from where Mr Singh got elected, have been reserved for the Schedule Caste(SC), on the other hand Harora(SC) seat from where Mayawati got elected thrice has been made a general seat.

Similarly in the case of parliament seats, former UP chief minister and BJP leader Kalyan Singh(Bulandshahr), rebel SP leader and cinestar Raj Babbar(Agra) and Congress leader Jiten Prasada (Shahjahanpur) would have to search for new seats in next year's general polls as their current seats have been reserved for the SC. Mayawati's traditional constituency Akbarpur is now no longer reserved.

However, interestingly, the delimitation, had not created much problem for Congress icon Sonia Gandhi and his son Rahul's constituencies of Rae Bareli and Amethi.

There is no change in the number of total assembly seats of 403 in the state but in the reserved category it has decreased from 89 to 85 seats. In the Lok Sabha seats there is no change in the number of 17 reserved seats in the state.

A new caste equation would also be required for all the candidates who will contest the coming general elections as area of their constituencies have been re-defined and assembly segements have been re-framed.

The Delimitation Commission under retired Supreme Court judge Kuldip Singh was set up in 2002, which submitted its report towards the end of 2007. Last week President of India Pratibha Patil notified the new delimitation Act. It was after 1970 that any delimitation was done of the Lok Sabha and assembly constitutuencies in the country.

The Commission took the 2001 census as the basis for the new delimitation work.

According to the new delimitation for the assembly segements, one seat each have been increased in the districts of Rampur, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Firozabad, Kheri, Lucknow, Allahabad, Kushinagar and Varanasi while two seats have been increased in Sonebhadra district.

Similarly, one seat each have been removed from the districts of Mainpuri, Hardoi, Unnao, Etah, BadaunBaghpat, Bulandshahr, Mahamaya Nagar, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Faizabad, Bahriach, Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Ballia and Jaunpur.

The delimitation has created new seats of Noida, Obra, Lucknow(north), Gorakhpur(Rural), Kapilvastu, Phaphamau(Allahabad), Chitrakoot, Kidwai Nagar(Kanpur) and Saharanpur city.


Please Wait while comments are loading...