Punjab Constitutes Advisory Board of Language Department

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Feb 22 (UNI) The Punjab Government today constituted State Advisory Board for Language Department Punjab comprising of 32 members from Punjabi, Hindi and Urdu literature and languages, media and eminent personalities.

Upinderjit Kaur, Education and Languages Minister, Punjab said that 16 more members have been included by virtue of their designation/offices. A six-member screening committee has been constituted to short list the recommended Shiromani awards. The term of this Board would be for three years but State Government reserved the powers to remove any member from this Board in any exigency.

The Minister further added that the state Government has also enhanced the honorarium for nonofficial nominated members and they would get Rs. 1000/- per meeting instead of Rs. 500/-. They could also avail TA at par with 'A' group officers.

Giving details she added that Prof. Gudial Singh, Mr Tirlochan Singh Member Parliament, Dr. Dalip Kaur Tiwana, Bhai Baldip Singh New Delhi, Mr. Gulzar Singh Sandhu, Dr. Kamlesh Uppal, Mr Gurdas Mann, Dr. Dhanwant Kaur Punjabi Development Department, Punjabi University Patiala, Dr. Karnail Singh Thind (Mohali), Mr Jasbir Singh Bhullar, Dr. Deepak Manmohan Singh and Dr. Satinder Singh Noor have been nominated as members from Punjabi literature and language.

From Hindi language Mr. Harminder Singh Bedi, former head Hindi Department GNDU Amritsar, Principal M.L Anand Ludhiana and Dr.

Chander Trikha former President Hindi Acedemy Haryana whereas Dr.

Ganesh Dutt Bhardwaj Chairman V.V.B.I.S.&.I.S. Sanskrit Department Punjab University Hoshiarpur, Prof. Damodar Jha, former Chairman Sanskrit Department and Dr. Ravinder Kaur Prof and Head Hindi Department Punjabi University Patiala would be the members from Sanskrit Language.

She further added that Sardar Panchhi, Dr. Banvaid Ali Urdu and Persian Department GNDU Amritsar and Advocate Gazi Muhamad Umaid Malerkotla have been nominated from Urdu language. From media Mr. Satnam Singh Manak (Ajit), Mr. G.S. Sidhu Damdami Chief Editor Punjabi Tribune, Mr. Amarjit Komal Senior Jounalist, Mr. Iqbal Singh Dhillon Film Producer and Mr. N.S. Parwana Punjab Kesari have also be inducted as members.


Please Wait while comments are loading...