Kiran Bedi, Brinda Karat among 23 named for Rashtriya Gaurav award

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 22 (UNI) Former police officer Kiran Bedi, social activist Madhu Kishwar, journalists Navika Kumar and Vidya Subramanium, CPI(M) leader Brinda Karat and green activist Sunita Narain are among 23 distinguished women to be honoured with the Rashtriya Gaurav Samman (National Pride Honour) awards this year for their outstanding contribution in their respective fields.

The list was released by the Global Women's Rights Protection Trust. The awards will be given away at a function to be held on the Global Women's Day at March 8 every year by Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.

Among other awardees are former IAS officers Reva Nayyar and Uma Pillai, Krishna Teerath, MP, Veena Jain publication of division in I and B ministry, Dalit activist Dr Lilly George and Kiran Chopra for promoting dignity for senior citizens.


Please Wait while comments are loading...