Nagaland: 4 women in the race for Assembly

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima, Feb 22: Altogether four women candidates of the total 218 contestants were trying their luck for the March five Assembly elections in Nagaland.

According to the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) C J Ponraj, Zeneisele of JD(U) is contesting from Dimapur-I constituency against the Congress candidate and former Chief Minister K L Chishi.

Rose Mery Jamir was contesting from Alongtaki under Mokokchung district as an Independent against sitting MLA Tiameren Aier.

NCP candidate Rhakilla Lakiumong would be fighting against sitting Congress MLA Kejong from Tuensang Sadar-II, Mr Ponraj said and added that Mrs Soly is vying from remote Pungro-Kiphire Assembly seat on a BJP ticket against former parliamentary secretary Torechu and Former Congress minister R L Akamba.

The CEO also informed that Thonoknyu constituency under Tuensang district has nine candidates, the highest, followed by Bhandari and Tyui constituencies under Wokha district with eight candidates each.

The CEO also informed that altogether 289 nomination papers were found valid of which 71 candidates withdrew their nomination.


Please Wait while comments are loading...