Vikram varsity convocation to be held on March 12

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ujjain, Feb 19: External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee will hand over honorary degrees to eminent people at the 17th convocation of Vikram University here on March 2.

Former Chief Justice of India R C Lahoti, Mahamandleshwar Swami Awadheshanand, journalist Alok Mehta, Dr Uday Shankar Awasthi, Goswami Gokulotsav and Dr Anil Kohili will be among the recipients of honorary degrees, according to Vice Chancellor Dr Ram Rajesh Mishra.

Governor Balram Jakhar, his Gujarat counterpart Nawalkishore Sharma and Union Minister for Personnel and MPCC chief Suresh Pachouri will also be present at the convocation ceremony, which was earlier scheduled for February 12, but was postponed due to the death of Education Minister Laxman Singh Gaud in a road accident.

Vikram University established in 1957 held its first convocation in 1959 and later held it every year till 1976. The executive council last year decided to hold the convocation every year.


Please Wait while comments are loading...