Dream field for the Johnnie Walker classic golf

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 18 (UNI) Jeev Milkha Singh, Jyoti Randhawa, Arjun Atwal, Gaurav Ghei and Emaar-MGF Indian Masters winner S S P Chowrasia will spearhead the Indian challenge in the star-studded 2.5 million dollar Johnnie Walker Classic, slated to be held at DLF Golf&Country Club in Gurgaon, from February 28 to March 2.

The Indians will be joined by other Asians - Thais Thongchai Jaidee, Prayad Marksaeng and Thaworn Wiratchant, Korea's Lee Sung, China's Liang and Zhang Lian-wei and Chinese Taipei's Lu Wen-Teh- to display the continent's emergence as a golf powerhouse.

The Johnnie Walker Classic, boasts a star-studded field of international players, which includes among others, Vijay Singh, Australia's Adam Scott, Englishman Ian Poulter, Scot Colin Montgomerie and Denmark's Thomas Bjorn.

Meanwhile China's Liang Wen-chong, Irishman Rory McIlroy and Korea's Lee Sung are amongst the nominations announced today for the prestigious Johnnie Walker 'Keep Walking' Golf Awards.

Top performers Liang, Thai Chapchai Nirat and K J Choi of Korea have been nominated for the Johnnie Walker Asian Player of the Year.

McIlroy, German Martin Kaymer, America's Tadd Fujikawa and Argentinian Andres Romero have been named as the three contenders for the Johnnie Walker Young Player of the Year Award.

The three contenders for the Johnnie Walker Asian Rising Star Award are Lee, Juvic Pagunsan of the Philippines and Malaysia's Airil Rizman.

The winners of the three Awards, as voted by a panel of judges from the European, Asian and Australasian Tours, will be announced on Saturday, March 1, at the Johnnie Walker Classic.


Please Wait while comments are loading...