Congress wins Mayor and Deputy Mayor posts

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysore, Feb 18 (UNI) Congress candidates Mr Ayub Khan and Ms Kamala were elected as Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively of the City Corporation at a special meeting held here today.

Ayub Khan defeated Janata Dal(S) candidates S Satish by a one vote. Mr Khan polled 25 votes while Satish secured 24 votes. While BJP candidate Ram Prasad secured only 20 votes.

Ms Kamala was declared elected unanimously as she was the only candidate in the field for the post reserved for ST Women.

Regional Commissioner G M Dhananjaya presided over the special meeting and conducted the election proceedings.

Earlier out of 65 member house of City Corporation, 64 was took oath. MLCs D Made Gowda, T N Manjunath (both from Congress) Marithibbe Gowda (JD(s) and Thonttadharya BJP) along with Lok Sabha member C H Vijyashankar took part in the election.

In the 65 member house Congress (22) JanataDal(S)-18,BJP-18 and seven independents.

Later speaking to newsmen newly elected mayor Ayub Khan said that priority would be given to overall development of the city besides providing basic facilities like drinking water to entire city.


Please Wait while comments are loading...