14 Orissa districts affected by naxal activities

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Feb 18 (UNI) Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today informed the Assembly that altogether 14 districts were affected by naxal activities.

Replying to a question of Congress member Netrananda Mallick, Mr Patnaik said Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanja, Sambalpur, Deogarha, Sundargarha, Keonjhar, Jajpur, Dhenkanal, Ganjam,Gajapati, Kandhamal and Nawarangpur were affected by naxal activities in varying degrees.

Mr Patnaik said while during 2007-08 as many as 17 persons, including 13 civilians, two security personnel lost their lives in 2008.

''As many as nine maoists were killed and 140 arrested in anti-naxalite operations conducted during the period,'' he said.

However, the Chief Minister said none of the districts had so far been declared as naxal dominated.

Taking into account the gravity of the situation, districts like Koraput, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Mayurbhanja, Sundargarh, Sambalpur, Deogarha, Dhenkanal and Gajapati have been identified as seriously affected by naxal activities, he added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...