Vizzy Trophy commences tomorrow at Amritsar

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Amritsar, Feb 15 (UNI) Keeping in view the excellent sports achievements at the national and international levels, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has chosen Guru Nanak Dev University (GNDU) to host the national Vizzy Trophy Cricket tournament which commences tomorrow.

The tournament will commence tomorrow. The University had also organized this prestigious cricket tournament in 1996-97.

This coveted tournament is being organized by the University under the overall supervision of BCCI on the recommendation of Association of Indian Universities, New Delhi, Vice Chancellor Jairup Singh here today stated.

Seven cricketers of this university are representing the North Zone Team in the Vizzy Trophy. They are Sumit Sharma, Vanish Bhatia, Hitesh Anand, Rahul Sharma, Tarun Sharma, Vipan and Bharat Lamba.

Sumit Sharma, Rahul Sharma and Bharat Lumba were also been selected to represent Punjab State in the Ranji Trophy Cricket Tournament.

Dr Kanwaljit Singh, Director of Sports of the University said that one team consisting of all the Universities of one zone, that is North Zone, East Zone, West Zone and South Zone selected by a duly constituted selection committees by Association of Indian Universities, Delhi shall participate in this tournament.

Giving details about the schedule of the matches, Dr Kanwaljit Singh said that South Zone would meet West Zone at GNDU Campus Grounds while North Zone would take on East Zone at Gandhi Ground from February 16-18. February 19 would be the rest day and the finals would be played from February 20-23 at Gandhi Ground.

Besides the All India Inter-University Cricket tournament for women will be held at GNDU from February 24 to March 8.


Please Wait while comments are loading...