BJP wrests Mashobra Block Development Committee from Congress

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Shimla, Feb 14 (UNI) The BJP wrested the Mashobra Block Development Committee (BDC) from the Congress in the elections held at Mashobra, near here today.

Mr Laxmi Nand Sharma (BJP) defeated Mr Vidya Jyoti Sen (Congress) by five votes for the post of the BDC chairman, while Mr Yog Raj Bansal (BJP) defeated Mr Rajesh Sharma (Congress) by 11 votes in the elections held today.

The elections were held following the passing of a no-confidence motion passed against the Congress leaders recently.

Later, addressing mediapersons here local legislator and former BJP state president Suresh Bhardwaj said it was the Congress, which by adopting unconstitutional methods and administrative pressures, had managed victory during the last elections.

''For the BJP, this victory means a lot as it is the district of former chief minister Virbhadra Singh and present leader of opposition in the state assembly Vidya Stokes,'' he said.

Mr Bhardwaj said that under the dynamic leadership of Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal the state government was committed to fulfill the promises made in the BJP's election manifesto.

''The state government has taken several pro-poor decisions in a short time span, indicating where its priorities lie,'' he said.

The Centre's decision to hike the annual plan by Rs 300 crore as compare to the last year and its recent nod to set up fourth IRB Battalion was the result of ''good relations'' of chief minister with the central leaders, he added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...