Rich tributes paid to former members

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Feb 13 (UNI) The Orissa Assembly today paid rich tributes to the three former members of the House, who died recently.

The members observed a two-minute silence in memory of Uchhab Charan Jena, Gourishyam Naik and Tribikram Mallik as a mark of respect and expressed their heartfelt condolences to the bereaved families.

Moving the obituary reference, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik described the former members as great leaders and said their demise was an irreparable loss not only to the House but also to the state.

While Jena represented the Simulia Constituency in 1967, Naik was elected from Erasama in 1952 and Mallik represented Bijipur in 1971.

Leader of the Opposition J B Patnaik, BJP legislative party leader Biswa Bhushan Harichandan, JMM leader Bimal Lochan Das, Mr Arun Dey (OGP), Mr N Narayan Reddy (CPI), Mr Laxman Munda (CPI)-M, MrPadma Lochan Pand, Mr Umesh Swain, Mr Ananta Sethi, Mr Subal Sahu (All Cong), Mr Damodar Rout and Mr Anand Achayara of BJD and Speaker Maheswar Mohanty condoled the death of the former members.


Please Wait while comments are loading...