Delhi's Manish faces Risheb in final

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Feb 13 (UNI) Delhi's second seed Manish Kumar will face third seed Risheb Deb of Punjab in the boys under-14 singles final of the AITA Talent Series Tennis Tournament at the CLTA Stadium tomorrow.

Playing with confidence Manish defeated Jasbir Singh of Punjab without dropping a single game in the semi-final encounter.

Rishab Deb caused the biggest shock as he defeated top seed Nischay Rawat of Chandigarh in two straight sets. Rishab won the first set via tie-breaker at 7-6 (2) and second at 6-3 for the final spot.

Another Delhi player Simran Wadhwa prevailed over plucky Harsimran Kaur 6-2, 5-7, 6-3 in the girls Under-12 singles quarter-final. In another quarter-final fixture, Hasan Abdal Dhanoa rallied to prevail over a never-say-die Nandini Sharma in three sets 4-6, 6-3, 6-2. In another quarter-final match third seed Vibhuti Khullar defeated Nikita Bishnoi 6-1, 6-0.

Top seed Jatinder Singh ousted Sachin Kumar 6-3, 6-3 in the boys Under-12 all-Chandigarh semi-final. His opponent in the final tomorrow would be second seed Amit Bzad of Punjab who scored a hard-fought 6-1, 3-6, 6-3 victory over third seed Tejas Kapoor of Delhi.

Top seed Sonal Bansal (Chandigarh), third seed Rajbir Kaur (Punjab), fifth seed Vibhuti Khullar (Chandigarh) and Riya Bhatia (Delhi) qualified for the girls Under-14 singles semi-finals. Sonali edged out Nikita 6-3, 6-1. However, second seed Charvi Saxena of Chandigarh bowed out as Delhi's Riya Bhatia defeated her in straight sets 6-4, 6-4 in the quarter-final matches.

Results: Boys Under-14 singles (semi-finals): Rishab Dev (Pb) bt Nischay Rawal (Chd) 7-6 (2), 6-3, Manish Kumar (Dli) bt Jasbir Singh (Pb) 6-0, 6-0. Quarter-finals: Nischay Rawal (Chd) bt Bhavtaranpreet (Chd) 6-1, 3-6, 6-3, Rishab Dev (Pb) bt Amit Bzad (Pb) 6-1, 6-1, Jasbir Singh (Pb) bt Kuwar Singh Tater (Asm) 6-2, 6-1, Manish Kumar (Dli) bt Mandeep Kumar (Chd) 6-3, 6-3.

Boys Under-12 singles (semi-finals): Jatinder Singh (Chd) bt Sachin Kumar (Chd) 6-3, 6-3, Amit Bzad (Pb) bt Tejas Kapoor (Dli) 6-1, 3-6, 6-3. Quarter-finals: Jatinder Singh (Chd) bt Dhruv Pal (Utr) 6-0, 6-1, Sachin Kumar (Chd) bt Ishaque Eqbal (WB) 7-5, 7-6 (3), Tejas Kapoor (Dli) bt Ankush Arora (Pb) 6-3, 6-0, Amit Bzad (Pb) bt Dheer Anush Bhatti (Chd) 6-4, 6-1.

Girls Under-14 singles (QF): Sonali Bansal (Chd) bt Nikita 6-3, 6-1, Rajbir Kaur (Pb) bt Hasan Abdal Dhanoa (Pb) 6-1, 6-0, Vibhuti Khullar (Chd) bt Sabrina Gill (Chd) 6-4, 6-2, Riya Bhatia (Dli) bt Charvi Saxena (Chd) 6-4, 6-4.

Girls Under-12 singles (QF): Simran Wadhwa (Dli) bt Harsimran Kaur 6-2, 5-7, 6-3, Shweta Sangwan (Har) bt Riya Bhatia (Dli) 6-0, 6-2, Vibhuti Khullar (Chd) bt Nikita Bishnoi (Chd) 6-1, 6-0, Hasan Abdal Dhanoa (Chd) bt Nandini Sharma (Chd) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2.


Please Wait while comments are loading...