16, including Rio, file nominations

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kohima Feb 13 (UNI) Altogether 16 nomination papers were filed till third day of filing of nomination papers for the March five Assembly elections in Nagaland.

Election office sources said that outgoing Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Assembly Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie and President of Nagaland Peoples' Front (NPF) Shurhozelie Liezietsu, all NPF candidates, for Northern Angami-II Assembly Constituency (A/C ), Western Angami A/C and Northern Angami-I A/C respectively have filed their nomination papers in front of the returning Officer of Kohima yesterday.

Dr Atha Vizol of NPF, for Southern Angami-II A/C and Er Levi Rengma, an Independent for Tseminyu A/C also submitted their nominations papers to the Returning officer of Kohima.

In Phek, NPF candidates Neiba for Pfutsero A/C, Kewezu for Chizami A/C and former ministers Thenucho for Chazouba A/C, Kuzholuzo for Phek A/C and Yitachu for Meluri A/C, have filed their nomination papers to the Returning officers of Phek.

In Wokha, BJP candidates Yanthungo for Tyui A/C, former minister Dr. T M Lotha for Wokha A/C, T L Merry for Sanis A/C and C Kikon for Bhandari A/C filed their nomination papers. One Independent candidate E.Zachamo Lotha also filed hisw nomination papers for Bhandari A/C to the Returning Officer of Wokha.

NPF candidate Y Vikheho also filed his nomination papers for the Pughoboto A/C to the returning Officer of Zunheboto yesterday. The Congress candidates are likely to file their nomination papers tomorrow.

The last date of filing nomination papers is February 16, while scrutiny will be held on February 18 and the last date of withdrawal is February 20.


Please Wait while comments are loading...