Kakodkar, Mittal get IIM-Lucknow leadership awards for 2007

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 12 (UNI) Atomic Energy Commission chairman Dr Anil Kakodkar and Bharti Group founder Sunil Bharti Mittal were among the six people who today received the Lakshmipat Singhania-Indian Institute of Management Lucknow National Leadership awards for 2007.

While Dr Kakodkar and Mr Mittal received the awards for exceptional leadership qualities in the fields of science and technology and business respectively, Akshay Pratishthan founder Aruna Dalmia was honoured for her outstanding contribution in community service and social upliftment.

Akshay Pratishthan was established in 1988 with the objective of creating opportunities and providing rehabilitative services for persons with disability.

The other three Young Leader recipients were Subhiksha managing director R Subramaniam (business), scientist Dr Atish Dabholkar (science and technology) and National Association for Blind, Director, IT, Dipendra Manocha in community service and social upliftment.

Mr Manocha, a visually impaired social worker, is also running the Saksham Charitable trust, established in 2003 to undertake activities for empowerment of persons with disability.

President Pratibha Patil presented the awards, carrying a trophy and citation, to the recipients at a function at Vigyan Bhawan here.

The awards have been instituted by the IIM Lucknow in association with JK Organisation in 2004 to credit iconic personalities who have achieved global recognition through excellence in their chosen fields.

The awards for Young Leader in business, science and technology and community service and social upliftment for those below 45 years in age were started in 2005.

The jury, headed by former Planning Commission deputy chairman and ex Union Minister K C Pant, comprised Bihar Planning Commission deputy chairman N K Singh, Hindustan Times vice chairperson and editorial director Shobhana Bhartia, National Institute of Advanced Studies director Dr K Kasturirangan, State Bank of India chairman O P Bhatt, SRF Limited CMD Arun Bharat Ram, The Tribune Editor-in- Chief H K Dua, JK Organisation president and IIM Lucknow chairman Board of Governors Hari Shankar Singhania, IIM Lucknow director Dr Devi Singh and JK Group director Bharat Hari Singhania.

In all, 327 nominations were received in all categories.

Union Human Resources Development Minister Arjun Singh and Mr Pant were also present on the occasion.


Please Wait while comments are loading...