National power boards hockey, tug-of-war event commences

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hisar, Feb 7 (UNI) The 34th All India Inter State Electricity Boards Hockey and Tug of War tournament commenced here today.

Lt Gen O S Lochab Chairman Haryana Power Transmission and Distribution Corporations inaugurated the tournament at Vidyut Nagar Sports Complex.

In the starting game of tug of war, host and last years runners-up Haryana beat Madhya Pradesh 2-0. While last years winners Punjab State Electricity Board defeated Uttrakhand by 2-0.

The teams of Madhya Pradesh and Uttrakhand proved to be no match to the host and the title holders. Haryana won the second match of Tug of War against Uttar Pradesh 2-0, while Northern Delhi Power Limited beat Inderprastha Generation Corporation, Delhi 2-0 and TATA Mumbai beat Transmission Corporation Delhi 2-0.

In the first game of hockey the players of Andhra Pradesh Transmission Corporation could not face the wrath of host Haryana.

Satbir Singh (Haryana) made first goal in the 11th minute of the game followed by a goal by Naveen (Haryana). The second half of the game also started with a goal by Satbir against Andhra Pradesh followed by a goal by Naveen.

Then Satbir made a flurry of three goals and the final and eighth goal was made by Haryana's Captain Shishu Pal in the last moments of the game. Haryana beat Andhra Pradesh 8-0.

Over 22 teams having 350 players from 15 State Power Utilities are participating in both the events of Hockey&Tug of war. A number of international players are participating in the tournament.

In rest of the hockey matches, the PSEB beat Uttrakhand 7-1 in an almost un-resisted game. Calcutta Electricity Supply Corporation beat UP 4-0 and Chhattisgarh State Electricity Board outplayed Bhakra Beas Management Board 2-0 in a well contested match.


Please Wait while comments are loading...