Karnataka lifts cricket trophy for blind

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Lucknow, Feb 3 (UNI) Karnataka won the top place in the Dr Shakuntala Mishra Memorial Cricket Tournament for the blind, beating Haryana by 25 runs at the KD Singh Babu Stadium here today.

In the finals, Haryana won the toss and opted to field. Karnataka scored 219 for the loss of five wickets in stipulated 20 overs.

Prakash, who was later declared as man of the match as well as the best batsman of the tournament, played a fine 115 runs innings.

Shekhar Nayak, the best Bowler of the tournament, contributed 23 runs. Virendra Singh of Haryana claimed 2/44.

Chasing a victory target of 220 Haryana in a ding dong battle fell 26 runs short of the target at 196.

Dinesh Kumar of Haryana and Mallikarjun of Karnataka declared as man of the series and best player of the tournament respectively.

Later, giving away the trophies to the winners and runners up the cheif guest - senior judge Pradeep Kant lauded the efforts of Satish Chandra Mishra, Rajya Sabha MP and BSP general secretary.


Please Wait while comments are loading...