All India Ports Football Championship begins

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Visakhapatnam, Feb 2 (UNI) The five-day 32nd All India Major Ports Football championship was inaugurated at Diamond Jubilee outdoor stadium here this morning, with the pool 'A' inaugural match between Visakhapatnam and Mumbai teams ending in a goal-less draw.

Visakhapatnam Port Trust (VPT) Chairman K R Kishore inaugurated the championship.

Seven ports, including Chennai, Cochin, Tuticorin and host Visakhapatnam are participating in the championship which is being conducted on a league-cum-knockout basis by dividing the teams into two pools.

The VPT Sports Council is organising the championship for the fifth time after 1985, 1988, 1994 and 2001. Last time the championship was organised by the Kolkata Port Trust.

Kolkata port was the winner while Marmagao port was the runner-up.


Please Wait while comments are loading...