Delhi's 'Metro Man' honoured 'Indian of the Year'

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 30: E Sridharan, the man who gave the national capital world class Metro, has been declared "Indian of the Year for 2007" by CNN-IBN news channel.

The Delhi Metro Chief received the award last night at a glittering ceremony attended by former President APJ Abdul Kalam, Vice President Hamid Ansari, top politicians of the country and other eminent persons from differernt walks of life. Legendary cartoonist R K Laxman was given the award for "Lifetime Achievement", which he accepted from the hands of his close friend Dr Kalam. All other awards were given away by Mr Ansari.

''The one thing common to all the achievers honoured today was that they were never afraid of problems,'' Dr Kalam remarked after honouring Laxman.

While accepting the award, Mr Sridharan said the success of the Delhi Metro should be credited not just to one person but to the entire team of engineers, technicians and other workers who worked with deligence and devotion to make the dream of a state of art, rapid mass transport, a reality for Delhiites.

''Professional competence, value for time and dedication were some of the organisational values that were the key behind the success,'' he said.

He was also the winner in the public service category.

The channel honoured achievers in the categories of politics, sports, entertainment, business, public service and that of a "Global Indian".

Finance Minister P Chidambaram was chosen for the "Politician of the Year" award, while Vodafone CEO Arun Sarin was given the honour under the "Global Indian" category. Besides, chess master V Anand was selected for the award in the 'Sports' category, though he was not present in person to accept the award, which was received by his parents.

State Bank of India chairman O P Bhatt received the award under the "Business" category. It was for the first time a figure from a public sector undertaking was chosen for the honour.

The award under the "Entertainment" category went to director of the Bollywood blockbuster "Chak De India" Shimit Amin and the film's writer Jaideep Sahni.


Please Wait while comments are loading...