73 Lady Golfers to participate in Amateur championship

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jan 28 (UNI) As many as 73 women amateur golfers will be seen in action in the 91st Ladies All India Amateur Golf championship beginning at Eagleton Golf Club here from tomorrow.

The India Golf Union Ladies Sections (IGULS) president Sania Malhotra told newspersons here that India's finest amateur players, including local favourite Sharmila Nicollet, Mehar Atwal, Shweta Galande and Laverry Kumar, among others, from all parts of the country will participate in the championship.

Sharmila, India's number one ranked player, who won all the Regionals that she participated this year, had represented the country at the Doha Asian Games and the Asia Pacific Juniors. She has qualified as a member of Team India for the 30th Queen Sirikit Cup this year.

Mehar Atwal, one of the top juniors, who recently won the Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Gold championship was currently ranked no two on the IGULS order of merit, Ms Malhotra said adding the participants would be divided into three categories and the top two would enter the main event, while the losers would get another opportunity to play for other trophies.

''Besides the national title this year, the participants will also have the opportunity of winning a Honda Accord. The luxury car would be awarded to the first player who aces the 106-yard, par-3, 17th hole,'' she added.

She said the six-day event comprises 36 hold stroke play event for Billoo Sethi Trophy (Gold-handicap of 12 and below), for AVM Trophy (Silver-Handicaps of 13-24) and DT Salver Trophy (Bronze-handicap of 25-35).

Inter-zonal, Junior VST trophy, Seniors London Pilsner trophy and Super senior Noshi Muluk Irani trophy would be simultaneously played on the first two days on a stroke-play format, she added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...