73 Lady Golfers to participate in All India Amateur Championship

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Jan 28(UNI) More than 73 lady amateur golfers can be seen in action in the 91st Ladies All India Amateur Golf Championship being played Eagleton Golf Club from tomorrow.

The India Golf Union Ladies Sections (IGULS) President Sania Malhotra told newsmen here today that India's finest amateur players including local favorite Sharmila Nicollet, Mehar Atwal, Shweta Galande and Laverry Kumar among others from all corner of the country are participating in the Championship for which the Siddharth Shriram Group of Companies are the title sponsors.

Sharmila, India's No One ranked players, having won all the Regionals that she participated this year, had represented the country at the Doha Asian Games and the Asia Pacific Juniors. She has qualified as a member of Team India for the 30th Queen Sirikit Cup this year.

Mehar Atwal, is one of the top juniors who recently won the Sri Lanka Ladies Amateur Gold Championship. Mehar is currently ranked No two on the IGULS order of merit.

She said that the participants would be divided into three categories and top two would enter the main event, while the losers would get yet another opportunity to play for other trophies.

"Besides the national title, this year, the participants will also have the opportunity of winning a Honda Accord. The luxury car would be awarded to the first player who aces the 106-yard, par-3, 17th hole", she added.

Sania said that the six-day event comprises 36 hold stroke play event for Billoo Sethi Trophy (Gold-handicap of 12 and below), for AVM Trophy (Silver-Handicaps of 13-24) and DT Salver Trophy (Bronze- handicap of 25-35). Besides Inter Zonal, Junior VST Trophy, seniors London Pilsner Trophy and Super senior Noshi Muluk Irani Trophy would be played concurrently on the first two days on a stroke play format.


Please Wait while comments are loading...