ECI issues more restrictions for poll-bound NE states

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Agartala, Jan 27: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has issued another list of model guidelines to ensure free and fair Assembly elections in the three Northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland.

Official sources said here today according to the guidelines no political party would be allowed to function within 200 metres of polling booths during the elections and only temporary offices, having one table and two chairs, would be allowed beyond the specified boundary. Moreover, political leaders will not be allowed to stay in government-run rest houses during electioneering. However, only leaders having Z-category security coverage could avail of the facility. State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Dr G S G Ayyanger unveiled the detail procedures in an all-party meeting yesterday and briefed the representatives of different political parties about the new guidelines.

Dr Ayyanger told mediapersons here today that the Commission had also made it clear that security would be provided to 40 campaigners of a recognised political party and each candidate would be allowed to spend Rs five lakh and they would have to maintain an expenditure register.

''An expenditure register will be given to each candidate shortly and they will have to place the register before the Returning Officer (RO) after an interval of every three days,'' Dr Ayyanger said, adding that an extra precautionary measure would be taken in front of polling stations having more than three booths.

Besides political parties and candidates, the ECI had also issued restrictions for the electorates of the poll-bound states in the NE.

The movement of the voters from one constituency to another would also be checked after the campaign ends.

''Extra security post would be set up at inter-constituency boundary of all three states to restrict the movement of the voters,'' he informed.

According to the model guidelines, mobile phones would not be allowed to be carried by any person inside polling stations, except presiding officers and sector officers, Dr Ayyanger added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...