Petroleum shuttlers continue winning spree both in men, women events

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Panaji, Jan 25 (UNI) Petroleum's top seed Anup Sridhar and Saina Nehwal qualified in the men and women's singles for the quarter finals after the fourth round of the 72nd Senior National Badminton Championship, which is underway at Indoor Complex, Campal.

In the fourth round, Anup Sridhar made short work of Rohit Ranaut (Delhi) 21-6, 21-10 and Saina Nehwal (Pet) also had an easy win over Neha Pandit (AI) 21-12, 21-10.

There were four upsets today, two each in men and women's singles events.

In the men's singles events, Maharastra's 12th seeded Sagar Chopda beat 7th seeded J B S Vidhaydhar (Andra Pradesh) 21-18, 21-18 and 13th seeded R M V Gurusai Dutt (AP) beat sixth seeded Ravinder Singh (UP) 17-21, 21-12, 21-18.

In the women's events, Meenakshi B R (PET) beat sixth seeded Sayali Gokhale (AI) 21-8, 21-10 and unseeded Gayatri Vartak (Mah) beat 8th seeded Anita Ohlan (RLY) 21-14, 24-22.

Other shuttlers of Petroleum who made it to quarter-finals were second seed B Kashyap, third seed B Chetan Anand and fourth seed Arvind Bhat. Air India's fifth seed Anand Pawar, Maharastra's Sagar Chopda, Railway's Sachin Ratti and Andra Pradesh R M V Guru Sai Dutt too moved into quarter finals.

B Kashyap (PET) beat Jishnu Sanayl (AI) 21-11, 21-19, B Chetan Anand (PET) beat Srujay Nandaluri (AI) 21-13, 21-8, Arvind Bhat (PET) beat Utsav Mishra (AI) 21-14, 21-15, Anand Pawar (AI) beat Saurav Kapoor (HAR) 21-7, 21-12, 12th seed Sagar Chopda (MAH) beat seventh seed J B S Vidhaydhar (AP) in a close contest 21-18, 21-18.

Sachin Ratti (Rly) beat K Tanishaq (BSNL) 21-16, 21-15 and 13th seed R M V Gurusai Dutt (AP) beat sixth seed Ravinder Singh (UP) in three sets 17-21, 21-12, 21-18.

In the women's singles, besides Nehwal, other Petroleum players who moved into quarter finals were second seed Trupti Murgunde, third seed Aditi Mutatkar, fifth seed Aparna Balan, seventh seed Jwala Gutta and Meenakshi B R.

Fourth seed Dhanya Nair (Railways) and Gayatri Vartak (Maharastra) also made it into quarter finals.

In the women's fourth round, Trupti Murgunde (PET) beat Sonali More (Mah) 21-3, 21-10, Aditi Mutatkar (PET) beat Ashwini Ponnapa (KTK) 21-19, 21-15, Aparna Balan (PET) beat Abantika Deka (ASM) 21-12, 21-11, Jwala Gutta (PET) beat Parssa Naqvi (RLY) 21-14, 21-11, Meenakshi B R (PET) beat Sayali Ghokle (AI) 21-8, 21-10.

The fourth seed Dhanya Nair (RLY) beat V Ruth Mishra (KTK) 21-18, 21-16 and Gayatri Vartak (Mah) beat Anish Olhan (Rly) 21-14, 24-22.


Please Wait while comments are loading...