Kalmadi urges GTCC to make CYG a grand success

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Pune, Jan 24 (UNI) City MP Suresh Kalmadi, who is the organising committee chairman of the 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games (CYG), today inaugurated the office of the Games Technical Conduct Committee (GTCC) here and expressed confidence that the GTCC will make every possible effort to make the Games a success.

Mr Kalmadi, who is also the president of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA), pointed out that the Pune CYG, being hosted for the first time in the country, enjoys many firsts.

All the 71 countries, coming under the fold of the Commonwealth, will be vying for honours in nine disciplines of games, which is a record, he said while pointing out that the second edition of the Games held in Australia had only six disciplines Following India's request, the Commonwealth Games Federation president Michael Fennel had agreed to add three more disciplines, namely swimming, wrestling and table tennis in the Pune CYG.

Mr Kalmadi urged the GTCC officials to be vigilant since the CYG was a dress rehearsal for the 2010 Commonwealth Games and even a small mistake in the conduct of the 2008 CYG could have a reflection on the 2010 event.

But, Mr Kalmadi was confident that the GTCC under the stewardship of former Union minister Brig K P Singh Deo and assisted by Mr A S V Prasad as convener and Pralhad Sawant as joint convenor, will deliver the goods.

Mr Sawant, speaking on the occasion, informed that the GTCC office will accommodate nine officials of the national federations as well as nine officials from the state associations, officials of the Maharashtra Olympic Association (MOA), nine Arjuna awardees of the respective nine games, nine district association technical officials, and support staff.

Mr Kalmadi said all new stadia for the Games will be completed by May 31.

Following is the constitution of Games Technical Conduct Committee: Brig K P Singh Deo (Chairman), Satish Pradhan (Vice President), Balasaheb Landge (Vice President), A S V Prasad (Convener), Pralhad Sawant (Jt Convener), Chandrakant Shirole (Member), Laxmikant Deshmukh (Member), Ramesh Tawde (Member), G A Siddique (Member).


Please Wait while comments are loading...