Lyallpur Khalsa to meet Govt Model in all-Jalandhar affair

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalandhar,Jan 22 (UNI) It will be an all-Jalandhar affair in the final of the fourth All-India Sardar Balwant Singh Kapur Memorial Hockey Tournament as holders Government Model School meet Lyallpur Khalsa Senior Secondary School here tomorrow.

In their semi-final matches played at the Olympian Surjit Hockey Stadium in Burlton Park here today, Government Model School and Lyallpur Khalsa School recorded victories in contrasting styles.

Govt Model School struggled to prevail over spirited Bihar Regimental School of Danapur by 3-2 while Lyallpur Khalsa School recorded a fluent 4-0 triumph over Government Senior Secondary School of Gurgaon by 4-0.

In a well-contested first semi-final match, Govt Model forged ahead with a field goal scored by Satbir Singh in the 19th minute against BR School. The defending champions then, were awarded a penalty stroke in the 26th minute which Prabhdeep Singh converted with ease.

Despite being two goals down, the boys of Bihar Regimental School of Danapur launched a brave counter-attack. In the 28th minute Rakesh Roshan reduced the gap by scoring a fine field goal.

The Bihar boys kept on their pressure and were awarded a penalty stroke in the 33rd minute and Binay Bhengra converted it to make it 2-all.

Playing before their home crowd, Government Model School snatched the match winner in the 42nd minute when Jagroop Singh converted a penalty corner.

A brace by forward Gagandeep Singh paved the way for Lyallpur Khalsa Senior Secondary School's 4-0 win over Government Senior Secondary School of Gurgaon.

Meaning business from the word 'go', Lyallpur Khalsa School forced their first penalty corner in the third minute and Gagandeep converted it to give his team the lead.

Jagdeep Singh then scored a field goal in the 10th minute.

In a counter move, the Gurgaon boys earned their first penalty corner in the 15th minute but failed to convert it as the winners led 2-0 at half time.

On resumption, Gurpreet Siingh (56th) and Gagandeep Singh (63rd) added one goal each to the winners' kitty.


Please Wait while comments are loading...